Where Food, Photography, and Design Matters

Smash Kitchen & Bar Review, Comfort Food With Flavour

Smash Kitchen & Bar Review, Comfort Food With Flavour

Smash Kitchen & Bar is located near Unionville and is quite a hidden gem uptown in the Greater Toronto Area. Their menu selection is primarily comfort food, seafood, and traditional American dishes. Nevertheless, they always introduce some type of fusion appetizers or entrees every so often – which is what I love about Smash.

photo-2015-08-11-9-23-11-pm

photo-2015-08-11-9-23-25-pm

photo-2015-08-11-8-11-01-pm

The restaurant entrance within its plaza is quite small. But when you get inside, it is fairly huge until you open your eyes and observe 360-degrees. I say that because there are several dividers including the bar, isolated room on the right side of restaurant entrance, and another semi-curtained area at the opposite end. Overall, Smash Kitchen gives off a good and classy atmosphere.

photo-2015-08-11-7-41-31-pm

Up until now, I’ve eaten at Smash Kitchen three times and all three were great experiences. Fabulous times with good friends and my bae. So hopefully, this review can sum up my overall food adventure and speak to the dishes I have tasted (given if they are still on the current menu) at Smash Kitchen.

photo-2015-08-11-7-41-40-pm

Quick Note: Keep in mind that Smash Kitchen will add a gratuity of 18% for parties of 8 or more. Additionally, make sure you check out their “day of the week” special and dine-in promotions that ranges from drinks to appetizers and burgers! Some are pretty good bang for the buck!

During my latest visit, I went on the weekend without any reservation with my boyfriend and was asked to wait for 30 minutes. Surprisingly, the wait ended up less than 10 minutes! Our meal entailed trying one each of the lobster taco and duck taco, as well as the seafood paella and half rack & mac.

photo-2016-10-22-8-37-29-pm

Lobster Taco ($6): This taco includes a soft shell that holds lobster meat with guacamole, Pico de Gallo, and jalapenos chipotle aioli. My boyfriend and I both agreed that this taco has no resemblance to a lobster, but rather like a fish taco. We cannot tell how much of the content is actually lobster. All encompassing, the taco was not bad yet I felt the wrap could have been better – little bit too dry.

photo-2016-10-22-8-39-37-pm

Duck Taco ($5): Consists of duck meat, fried noodles, cucumbers, cilantro, pickled red onions, and spicy hoisin sauce. If you are a Caucasian and don’t often order Peking Duck at Chinese restaurants, then go for it. Otherwise, might as well skip this and try something different. This taco tastes exactly like eating Peking duck, no jokes. Overall, it’s a good idea to introduce these fusion dishes but for its taste, it’s totally not worth it.

photo-2016-10-22-8-47-15-pm

Seafood Paella ($23): The paella originates from Spain where they place everything spread out on a hot pan and roasted above the fire. There are many variations but Smash Kitchen’s recipe is definitely not authentic, especially from the dish’s appearance. Nevertheless, it still tasted awesome and totally recommend ordering it! Its ingredients include tiger shrimps, small clams, mussels, chorizo, sausage, tomato saffron broth, and orzo (pasta).

Half Rack & Mac ($22): This entree gets you best of both worlds and a little bit more – half rack of BBQ ribs with L.A. mac and cheese, plus some chipotle lime roasted corn and creamy coleslaw on the side. The ribs were definitely fall-off-the-bone and sauced up, but there were also one that leaned toward being dry. As for the mac and cheese, it was melted nicely and tasted just right. The cheese didn’t overwhelm the pasta nor was the macaroni too stiff and hard. Although the mains were both mentioned, the corn was definitely flavourful and adds to the overall dish. Thumbs up to this item!


Smash Kitchen: Second Visit with Friends and Foes (Kidding!)

We ordered all new dishes that I have never tried and discovered some tasty treats along the way!

photo-2015-12-29-8-01-40-pm

Burnt Ends ($12): Definitely one good appetizer but not very shareable if you have more than 2-3 people. Its a bowl of smoked brisket mixed with Smash’s BBQ sauce and scallions. On the side, you can also find some pickled red onions, creamy coleslaw, gherkin, and Bibb lettuce to perhaps entice your taste buds. If you are playful, you can actually try the Chinese style of wrapping everything into one lettuce!

photo-2015-12-29-8-01-24-pm

Beef Sliders ($12): These little cute and small sliders are not bad and to be honest, not my favourite but does keep you full. You can see it has a slice or two of Bibb lettuce (which it seems like Smash loves using), tomato, their house sauce, and a four cheese blend on brioche. Even though they did use brioche, the bun still felt slightly dry in my mouth.

photo-2015-12-29-8-20-53-pm

Mushroom Linguini ($17): This includes pesto cream, field mushrooms, caramelized onions, and green peas to give this dish some colour. I would recommend this entree! Despite looking simple and nothing fancy, I loved how the sauce is not thick and eases into all the ingredients and linguini. This mushroom pasta is different compared to the rich ones I’ve tasted, yet it still brings out all the delicious contents.

photo-2015-12-29-8-21-53-pm

Lobster Mac & Cheese ($22): If you like cheese, you’ll enjoy this. Simple like its appearance, it has lobster rosé, pico de gallo, herb crusted, macaroni, and of course your lobster seafood. The mac and cheese was cooked well and the lobster meat is actually abundant in comparison to the pasta. The only feedback I have is to make the cheese less dry in some areas (probably over cooked).


Smash Kitchen: Initial Visit

My first time going to Smash Kitchen, I was so excited to use my Yelp check-in offer (10% off the entire food bill) that I totally forgot about it when the check came. Turns out, you can only use it during week days anyway. I can’t speak on behalf of my friend, who went there multiple times and most likely tried everything on the menu, but it was an excellent dining experience from food quality to service.

We ordered the Louisiana Rice Croquettes, the famous Smash Burger, and Pride of Nova Scotia pizza – all were recommended by my friend.

Louisiana Rice Croquettes ($13): Shown above as the featured blog post image, the croquettes were really tasty. Just with a bite, its crispy deep-fried outer layer fell apart easily and the sauce spilled out within the rice ball. The rice ball was made mostly out of chorizo, peas, and chipotle aioli with cheese. This appetizer reminds me a lot of the sushi pizza serves at Japanese all-you-can-eat restaurants, but even more delicious!

photo-2015-08-11-8-14-34-pm

Smash Burger ($15): This Smash burger was on special for only $10 that day. It always comes with double patty but with an option to upsize into triple patty. You can even add more toppings like a fried egg, blue cheese, mushrooms, BBQ brisket, bacon, and many more. The patty was cooked really well – meat was tender and juicy with cheddar cheese melted right in between. The juice was also pouring out when I bite into it, but my onion ring fell out 🙁 I still loved it the burger regardless and I really liked the mixed green salad on the side. The balance of sourness and sauce vs. greens were just right. The leaves were quite fresh too. If you don’t like green salad, you can also choose fries or their daily soup.

photo-2015-08-11-8-13-57-pm

Pride of Nova Scotia Pizza ($19): This pizza was very authentic compared to the one I’ve even tried in New York (minus the lobster). In my preference, I wished their crust was slightly harder and put longer in their oven despite its sides being toasted and hard already. Contrarily, the pica gallo was really green and fresh, and the lobster came in big chunks – thumbs up on that! The pizza overall has your typical tomato sauce, mozzarella, Parmesan cheese, and roasted garlic to bring out it’s aroma.

Smash Kitchen is a pleasant place for some delicious food and cozy setting. I would definitely recommend it if you prefer western food, but more or less, l I still enjoyed more of their entrees than appetizers. They honestly make better full-blown meals than snacks. As for their service, I don’t have much to comment – no negative or super positive experiences in general.

Store Location: 4261 Highway 7, Markham, Ontario L3R 9W6 (Canada)

Atmosphere: 4/5
Customer Service: 4/5
Food Quality: 4/5

OVERALL RATING: 4/5
ratingsmile-small ratingsmile-small ratingsmile-small ratingsmile-small

Smash Kitchen & Bar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato


Related Posts

Wafflian Review, Where They Incorporate The Belgian Style

Wafflian Review, Where They Incorporate The Belgian Style

It’s always good to have a sweet tooth. Why? So it doesn’t hurt to pit stop for some dessert before dinner! Wafflian is a Belgian waffle and cupcake bar. It’s a store located inside a mall near St. Patrick subway station of downtown Toronto (5 […]

McDonald’s McLobster and Subway’s Pulled Pork Sandwich Review

McDonald’s McLobster and Subway’s Pulled Pork Sandwich Review

Welcome to my foodie blog! Everything you will want to know about my adventures on cooking, baking, tasting, eating, and more eating. You will find posts on the sweets I’ve attempted and made, awesome food recipes, restaurants I’ve tried and many more to come. It’s […]



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *